Wexford Clinches Dioralyte Walsh Cup Title with Convincing Victory Over Galway

Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile.

In a thrilling showdown at Netwatch Cullen Park in Carlow, Wexford emerged triumphant as they secured a comprehensive 1-21 to 0-16 victory over Galway in the Dioralyte Walsh Cup final. With a strong display of teamwork and skill, Wexford claimed their 18th pre-season title under the guidance of their new manager, Keith Rossiter.

Right from the opening whistle, Wexford showcased their intent as they surged forward with a relentless attacking approach. Lee Chin, who was exceptional throughout the game, led the charge from the centre-forward position, scoring a remarkable nine points. His accurate shooting and ability to create scoring opportunities for his teammates proved pivotal in Wexford’s success.

The half-forward line, consisting of James Byrne and Jack O’Connor, provided excellent support to Chin, contributing a combined total of 0-14 points. Their relentless work rate and accurate shooting further solidified Wexford’s dominance in the match.

Despite Galway’s valiant efforts to stage a comeback, Wexford maintained their composure and never relinquished their lead. Tom Monaghan and Kevin Cooney displayed flashes of brilliance in Galway’s attacking front, but their contributions alone couldn’t counter Wexford’s solid defensive line, which limited Galway to just nine points from play.

Unfortunately for Galway, their hopes were dealt a blow when Cooney suffered a significant hamstring injury and was forced to leave the field. With the absence of key players like Cathal Mannion and Brian Concannon, as well as the delayed return of the All-Ireland club-winning St Thomas’ players, Galway struggled to match Wexford’s intensity and game plan.

Wexford’s victory was a testament to their meticulous preparation and the unity within the team. Manager Keith Rossiter, who previously guided the under-20 team, expressed his satisfaction with the win, emphasising the importance of hard work and collective effort. He acknowledged the injury challenges faced by his side but praised the fit and sharp players who stepped up and delivered an outstanding performance.

As the final whistle blew, Wexford celebrated a well-deserved victory, elated by their success in securing the Walsh Cup title. Looking ahead, Rossiter acknowledged the upcoming challenges, including an encounter against Kilkenny in Nowlan Park for their league opener. Despite the tough road ahead, Wexford’s confidence is soaring, and they remain determined to carry their winning momentum into the next phase of the season.

Wexford Scorers:

Lee Chin: 0-9 (5 frees)

James Byrne: 0-3

Jack O’Connor: 0-2

Seamus Casey: 1-0

Corey Byrne Dunbar: 0-3

Cian Byrne: 0-2

Richie Lawlor: 0-1

Conor Hearne: 0-1

Galway Scorers:

Kevin Cooney: 0-5 (4 frees)

Tom Monaghan: 0-3

Alex Connaire: 0-2

Evan Niland: 0-2 (2 frees)

Sean O’Hanlon: 0-1

Greg Thomas: 0-1

Martin McManus: 0-1

Donal O’Shea: 0-1 (1 65)


More Posts

Where Every Game Tells a Story

Take the quiz and join the craic!


Sign up to our newsletter